Frank Lloyd Wright designed some 14 buildings for Japan: an embassy, a school, two hotels and a temporary hotel annex, a commercial-residential complex, a theater, an official residence for the prime minister and six private residences. Of these, six were built: the Imperial Hotel and Annex, the Jiyu Gakuen School, the Aisaku Hayashi House, the Arinobu Fukuhara House and the Tazaemon Yamamura House.

Approximately three Wright structures remain standing today: Jiyu Gakuen Myonichikan, the Tazaemon Yamamura House, the front lobby of the Imperial Hotel (rebuilt) and a portion of the Aisaku Hayashi House.  (KS)

Frank Lloyd Wright's Buildings in Japan

Imperial Hotel, Tokyo, 1912 - 1922
U.S. Embassy (Project), Tokyo, 1914
Aisaku Hayashi House, Tokyo, 1917
Odawara Hotel (Project), Odawara, 1917
Ginza Motion Picture Theater (Project), Tokyo, 1918
Mihara House (Project), Tokyo, 1918
Arinobu Fukuhara House, Hakone, 1918
Tadashiro Inoue House (Project), Tokyo, 1918
Tazaemon Yamamura House, Ashiya, 1918
Imperial Hotel Annex, Tokyo, 1920
Shimpei Goto House (Project), Tokyo, 1921
Jiyu Gakuen School, Tokyo, 1921
Prime Minister's Residence (Project), Tokyo, 1922
Hibiya Triangle Building (Project), Tokyo, 1922